My World

The world according to me!

Songs About Guys Who Are Sprung

I really love Drakes song – You’re the Best. It’s nice to hear a rap song about fidelity and commitment, however it’s couched. I then because men aren’t really encouraged to show emotion, and according to the media, they’re supposed to treat romantic entanglements as a search for more sex.  When an artist goes against the grain, or laughs at the status-quo, the result is often, funny, catchy and relatable.

I started thinking about the other “sprung” songs I liked, and came up with this list:

  • DrakeYou’re The Best This is the version of this song that I replay in my head everytime I hear it.  Loved it instantly. Homeboy is sprung, and I like that.
  • T-Pain – I’m Sprung I’ve been a fan of T-Pain’s auto-tune path to success, and this song is why. Mr. Man is showing all the signs of a player who is fighting a growing emotional attachment to just one girl. Quelle horreur, or is it?
  • Jackie O – Pussy Real Good This hilariously camp song is soo bad it’s good. The selling point for me is the obviously pussy whipped guy singing the chorus.
  • Blackie – Ah Hook Calypsonian Blackie experienced a career boost after this song was released. Kaiso has a long tradition of recounting the adventures of the Village Ram.  Conversely songs about the anti-Ram (hee hee) are very popular too. Blackie’s song falls into the latter category. Make note of the quintessential West Indian proof that you’re pussy whipped: washing the panties of your beloved.

Of course there are more but these are my favourite. I know it’s mean to laugh at other’s misfortunes, but these songs are sharing the joke with you.

And I thought I’d share a clip from one of the cartoon’s world most sprung of chracters. I mean, as soon as Popeye’s pisses her off, Olive takes up with Bluto. And yes Popeye the spineless man takes her back each and everytime.

3 Comments»

  JimmyBean wrote @

I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

A definite great read..Jim Bean

  boboleechron wrote @

:-p

  Chipboard Sheets · wrote @

Rap Songs are the best! specially those Gansta Rap stuffs, they really rock “


Leave a Reply

