My World

The world according to me!

Soca Awards

The International Soca Awards will take place on the island of Providenciales in the Turks and Caicos on October 30th.  The awards  were started in 2003 by Colin Jackman as a way to recognise the work of our hard-working soca artists.

Well the list of nominees is out: http://bit.ly/EakCc To be eligible your song should have been released between June 1st 2008 to May 31st 2009.

I wasn’t too pleased with some of the selections, but that’s always the case with me and awards. Some of the usual suspects were there, and some weren’t.

So in a moment of idleness I decided to put up my picks for who should win. In other words here’s the list of my favourites in each category:

So what do you think of my list or of the nominees themselves? I wish the Soca Awards were televised and broadcast around the region. I wonder if Tempo would be interested…

4 Comments»

[…] Soca Awards « My World youcouldbelievethis.wordpress.com/2009/09/25/soca-awards – view page – cached September 25, 2009 at 2:01 AM · Filed under Media, music and tagged: Blog, Caribbean, Carnival, Celebrity, Favourite Things, Media, music, News, Song of the Week!, Trinidad & Tobago — From the page […]

  bandi wrote @

yuh know da list eh bad at all… tend to agree with most of d selections….

  youcouldbelievethis wrote @

Boy, I feel they shouda let me pick the nominees. Just out of couriousity where do you disagree with my choices?

  Frank Scurley wrote @

I dont know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

…..Frank Scurley


Leave a Reply

