My World

The world according to me!

About My 50 Books in One Year Reading Challenge

I’m actually concerned about books like The Chrysalids and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar, both are on my reading list. My concerns with the former; I’m not a big Science Fiction lover, and with the latter; I’ve tried reading it, twice. I just don’t relate to her depression, or something.

Also I’m not entertaining Tom Jones until I’ve trained my reading muscles. The book is fun (I started it), but it’s soo long. So Atlas Shrugged will get the same treatment, that and I’m not sure I’m into Ayn Rand’s Objectivisim.

I’m also partial to fiction, so biographies may be out.

But all isn’t lost. I re-read Perfectly Correct in one day (26 Dec ’08). So I’m trying to condition my reading muscles. So tomorrow I should finish Inheritance of Lost, and re-read Memoirs of a Geshia. I’d started Fahrenheit 451, but I think I should save it for the challenge.

I’m looking forward to Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence because The House of Mirth is one of my favourite books. I’m similarly excited to read The Portrait of a Lady, because Henry James’ style has been compared to Wharton’s. I’ve read Daisy Miller, and enjoyed it.

All in all, I think I’m really looking forward to this challenge. I actually can’t wait for 2009.

2 Comments»

  Golf bob wrote @

Hey I think its great reading books, but setting a number per year comes a little bit like work. I used to love books , but for me the internet is more interesting and tv ( whatever medium pay normal or dvd s are easier yes I know I lazy . Wish you lots of fun by reading

  youcouldbelievethis wrote @

I know, but I wanted to give myself a reading challenge because I needed a jump start. I used to read a lot, and quite fast too. But when I started doing literature in school (while I loved the subject) I stopped reading as much for fun.

Also I think I watch too much TV, and wanted something to help me change my focus. Besides I should starting school in September (I hope) so I need to re-train my brain for university reading.


Leave a Reply

