My World

The world according to me!

Florence Ballard Makes Me Cry

She was an original member of The Supremes. She had a fabulous voice, and an addiction to alcohol.

The former could have saved her, the latter helped ruin her career.

I remember reading a biography about Diane Ross, and it really painted her as a mean person. Life could hardly be so black and white. But it’s clear her relationship with Flo was strained.

But I just finished watching Dreamgirls, and it made me cry. Florence’s life was so hard.

But it made me want to hear her voice, and it’s good. It could have been showcased more. If you do a search on Youtube, you’ll have a lot of options. The best is her cover of “I Think I Going Out Of My Head”. It’s great.

So sad, so sad. Her life, but her voice so lovely. Take a listen if you will.

2 Comments»

  Peter Benjaminson wrote @

I’am also very interested in Florence’s life, and also thought it was very sad. Unfortunately, it was much sadder than in Dreamgirls. You might want to visit my website, http://www.thelostsupreme.com, and even buy my book, The Lost Supreme: The Life of Dreamgirl Florence Ballard, which came out this year. You can buy it in stores or at a discount at my site or thro Amazon.com. Peter Benjaminson.

  youcouldbelievethis wrote @

Actually that’s why the movie made me cry. Florence didn’t get a happy ending.


Leave a Reply

