My World

The world according to me!

Aap Jaisa Koi…

Is the title of my favourite Bollywood movie song. To me this is the quintessential Bollywood movie song, if only because it reminds me of my childhood. The lyrics are in Hindi, but I found a translation here.

Aren’t they sweet?  Try and sing along with the original.

The song is from the 1980 film Qurbani, it won the Best Playback Singer (Female)  in the Filmfare Awards in 1981.

Sadly, the singer Nazia Hassan died in 2000 of lung cancer, she was only 35.

That same year Soca Star Machel Montano released his album 2000 Too Young to Soca, a re-birth of sorts. The album featured a re-make of the song that introduced us to the genius that is Machel Montano. It also featured a re-make of Aap Jaisa Koi called Real Unity with Soca-Chutney artiste Drupatee Ramgoonai. It’s one of my favourites from Mr. Montano, and you can listen to it here.

I hope you enjoy them both.

3 Comments»

  anonyjw wrote @

Puuuuuuuuuluuuuuuup!!!!

Big chune!!! Big chune!!!

  youcouldbelievethis wrote @

LOL! That’s how I felt when I found it.

  Project 2010 « My World wrote @

[…] had lots of songs running through my head; Aap Jaisa Koi, which I hunted down obsessively; UpTown Top Rankin, the Tight’n Up version; and Firey by […]


Leave a Reply

