My World

The world according to me!

Phat Girl.

I have been putting on weight at an alarming rate for the past few years. And for some reason I can’t seem to stop the cycle. I would join the gym, or start running around De Savannah or something and then stop. I’d lose a little weight and then stop. And to be quite frank it’s very depressing.

I’ve started this horrible habit of emotional eating. When I get pissed off or stressed at the office, or am just a bit unhappy, I turn to snacks. Not good, especially since this is a particularly stressful time in my life. Like all bad habits it’s much easier to start it than stop.

I don’t hate exercising, I just can’t seem to keep it up. It’s always the easiest thing to drop from my schedule. And I get so self-conscious when I decide to re-join the gym. Really self-conscious.

Now I know why. Apparently I have some serious mental barriers which are keeping me from exercise. The women in the study I linked to reported feeling:

  • Feeling self-conscious.
  • Not wanting to fail.
  • Fearing injury.
  • Perceived poor health.
  • Having minor aches and pains.
  • Feeling too overweight to exercise.

I have to say I can honestly relate. It’s kind of a relief to know my issues aren’t mine alone. What I’m hoping is that as hard as it may be to overcome, that I’ll be able too. I start triathlon training on Sautrday, I don’t have a bike yet, but I’m trying. And I’m putting that out there because already I want to quit, beause I’m so scared.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

