My World

The world according to me!

Dangerous Beauty

The BBC is going to air a documentary on a series of maladies facing pedigree dogs. Hundreds of years of inbreeding to produce award winning beauty has also lead to the development of genetic deformities. As one vet puts it, he’s treating freaks. Dogs are paired with close relatives in a bid to recreate prized physical characteristics.

These dogs are suffering because of an obsession with beauty. I can’t help but think there’s a lesson we need to take out of this.

I can’t embed the documentary preview onto my blog, so you’ll have to click here to see it. I’m hoping it airs on BBC World, so that I can see the entire programme.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

