My World

The world according to me!

Afro Love

I’m not good at taking care of my hair. Especially since it’s natural. Meaning it’s thick and curly, and it a lot  for one girl to handle. I fear the obsession I have for my pens, should be get-sexy-hair-17_fulltranslated to my hair, if it is to get the care it needs.

I recently got it flatironed and the results were quite nice. If I’d let them wash my hair, instead of doing it myself,  it would have come out straighter and lasted longer. And I’ve recently become obsessed with Dominican Blowouts, trust me if a trip to MIA was in my near future I was booking a hair appointment stat. That was after I’d heard about Brazilian Keritin Treatments, and then dismissed them because of the potential danger. There’s a newer version of the BKT from Coppola which is supposed to  be safer, but I don’t know if being cute is worth the risk!

Don’t be scared I haven’t abandoned my nappy naps, I love them. But I get bored. Trust me I had locks, dyed them red and then cut them off when they passed shoulder length. Truth be told they looked great, but I just needed a change.

But I need to learn about my hair too! The lame thing about being a black woman with natural hair, is that we are truly ignorant about what it needs. What works for some doesn’t work for others, and everyone has quirks which can throw a wrench in the situation. The best education resource to be had is online, or talking to friends with natural hair.

My friends have helped me find the best local hairdressers and hair style tips and products. But it’s online that I find true inspiration. Like natural products are the best for natural hair. Moisturising is key, as is protections. It’s all overwhelming and inspiring at once. My goal is for thick long locks, but since I have dry, brittle hair, my primary goal is to improve it’s health.

What I have learned online?

  1. Well, I love the baggy method for keeping my hair moist. But it seems to make my nose  stuffy so I can’t do it as often as I’d like (should).
  2. Satin or silk scarves or bonnets are vital. I just haven’t found a way to keep them on whole night.
  3. You need to moisturise your hair regularly, and then seal the moisturiser with oil.
  4. Aloe Vera gel is really easy to make and your hair will thank you for it.
    While I’ve made the Aloe Vera gel, I’ve yet to use it on my hair cause it smells crappy. And next time (if there is a next time) I won’t be using the Vitamin C tablet because I’m not confident that it dissolves the way it should.

But the web isn’t just my hair care resource. It’s a great hair style resource too. I plan to take this hairstyle to my stylist so she could try it on me. Oh and that’s a link to Nigerian Queen’s Fotki album. She really knows how to style her hair, and has become my latest inspiration. The whole Fotki thing is new to me, and while the site is too public for me ( I kinda like my privacy) it’s very uplifting to see some really healthy black hair.

I’m also thinking about the pomp, which looks kind of cool, and easy to do. Scroll down to the Youtube video labelled Puff with a Pompadour.

I have to do my hair this week so I’ll let you know what I’ve done.

Peace!

2 Comments»

  The Body Politic « My World wrote @

[...] levels of natural hair hotness available on the internet. You’ve seen some of my favourites here,  and here. [...]

  My Paper Anniversary of Blogging « My World wrote @

[...] and hats. I have a conflicted relationship with magazines and I am working on getting my brain to truly love my natural hair. I also have some great tips on healthy eating, particularly for Caribbean [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

